Students should spend more time learning practical skills than academic subjects

University students mostly spend their time on campus, and academic life also benefits social interactions. University students need two different skills during their educational life. One is practical skills, and the other is academic proficiency.

Most students do not know how to proceed in the future in terms of choosing academic or practical paths. Normally, students who focus on practical skills can apparently find jobs after completing the academic curriculum if they decide that they have enough educational background. This is because they need to earn money to afford a reasonable standard of living, unlike those who want to pursue further education at universities. Learning practical skills can be important for a large proportion of students. A technical manager would probably choose a student with practical skills for an appropriate job. For instance, if a student has practical skills in computer engineering, he or she may be preferred by industry employers. This is the beneficial side of having a practical background for students.

However, students who have an academic background need to conduct more research at universities to acquire more knowledge and contribute to industries or related occupations. Furthermore, the costs for these students are higher than those for practitioners, depending on the length of their education. However, if a student spends more time on academic research, he or she may invent a new technology that provides important developments. Therefore, students who focus on academic subjects need more planning to direct their career paths.

To conclude, having 80% practitioners and 20% academic students can be beneficial for industries and economic growth according to statistics according to Hardvard University studies in 2011. Educational costs can be optimized, time loss can be minimized, and effectiveness for both students and industries can be maximized.