Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, while proponents and I, have held the view that art is a crucial subject and should be taught in schools’ curriculums, because it enhances the performance of the pupils, and helps them to absorb other subjects promptly, opponents argue otherwise and see it as a waste of time. I am a firm believer that students should learn art because it will boost their skills.

On one hand, opponents believe that teaching art will waste the children’s time. To enumerate, if students study art as an obligatory subject, they will give most of their attention to improving it as a skill instead of focusing on the other essential subjects, and that will jeopardize their future. For example, a plethora of Egyptian students spend most of their time doing art and neglecting the rest of the subjects, and that has a harmful effect on them. Hence, what can be said is that if teenagers choose an art career, they will face financial struggles in their lives.

On the other hand, proponents think that studying art is indispensable. To illustrate more, if students study art in their curriculums, it will facilitate their intellectual skills, which attain a high level of academic achievement. A prime example of this is the Egyptian pupils, who achieve high grades in the other subjects due to performing regular art. Therefore, teaching art as an obligatory curriculum has a significant influence on students’ performance.

In conclusion, by providing the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that while countless individuals see studying art as a waste of time and will endanger the students’ future, others see it as a beneficial module for students’ skills. For that reason, I am convinced that, parents should encourage their children to do art and master it as a pivotal tool.