Studying at university or college is harder than at school. Reasons and solutions?

Many people have recently taken notice that although they used to be good at studying in high school, they still struggle studying at higher institutions such as university or college. This essay would delve into the reasons behind this phenomena and then suggest certain solutions to deal with the problem.

The difficulty of higher studying can be attributed to several key factors. Firstly, the curriculum at university and college seems to be harder and more profound. This curriculum includes some particular sujects with a wider range of knowledge. For example, while students have only basic subjects at high school, they need to wristle with various subjects relating their major. Secondly, the required studying method is basically changed. Indeed, it is no longer suitable for a freshman to use old method. Not only does they need to get familiar with self-study and self-research skills, they also need to know using library or making a presentation in a seminar. Another contributing factor relates to the student’s ability in self-management. As a adult, students have their own freedom and social relationships, leading to the fact that many students have a temptation to waste their all day, paying no attention to study as their main task at the moment.

To address this issue, several solutions can be implemented. One of these is to instruct students discerning which field they really keen on and have appropriate ability. Indeed, if students choose the major that they enjoy, they would have more chance to overcome difficulties. Another possible approach is that students should be encouraged to find an productive way of learning. This means that at the beginning, students should try their best to acquire useful skills, such as reading, taking notes, presenting, and so on. Last but not least, students have to change themselves in term of self-management. For instance, they should consider studying as their priority, in this way, they will not only avoid distracting, but can also make their outcomes more acceptable as well.

In conclusion, some students get failure of studying at university and college due to the changes in the learning content, method and self-management. Nevertheless, by choosing suitable major, updating method and changing own attitude, the issue can be solved.