Studying at university or college is harder than at school. Reasons and solutions?

It is widely believed that higher education, such as university or college, is far more challenging compared to school studying. This is primarily driven by poor time-management skills and different learning styles. However, with a detailed plan, students can overcome these obstacles and have a more enjoyable higher learning.

One of the main causes is that students are unable to manage their time effectively. To clarify, most university or college students often have desires to gain work experience while studying in order to have certain essential skills for future job prospects. This means they have to balance between their studying as well as doing part-time jobs simultaneously, which leads to a higher chance of getting overwhelmed and feeling burnout. As a result, if time is not controlled properly, over time, both their mental and physical health can deteriorate as not all people have the abilities to perform multitaskings.

Another issue is that there are significant differences between the way people learn when they enter higher education. Many students might feel unfamiliar with the way they are being taught. For example, unlike school, university learning emphasizes more on self-study, which most individuals might lack. Since they are already used to the school style, which means school teachers are responsible for reminding them of homework assignments or which vital notes should be written down. As a consequence, when they get into a new learning environment, there is nobody there to guide them, it will result in a sense of disorientation.

However, in my opinion if students create a detailed studying plan as well as are more willing to ask for other help, they can definitely get rid of these challenges. A good plan not only helps people to break down their tasks into smaller pieces that are more straightforward to handle, but it also helps them acknowledge which tasks are more important and need to be prioritized first. Furthermore, if their plans are detailed enough, students can avoid disorientation in learning and feel much more confidence when they face university teaching styles. This leads to more productive studying and can save a lot of time on unnecessary responsibilities.

In conclusion, lack of time-management skills and a fresh feeling of new learning may discourage students from having good-quality learning in university or college. These issues can be all effectively addressed if people are able to make a good plan.