Subjects such as Art, Sport, and Music are being dropped from the school curriculum for subjects such as Information Technology. Many children suffer as a result of these changes. To what extent would you support or reject the idea of moving these subjects from the school curriculum?

Throughout the years, there have been many changes to the school syllabus that have caused divided opinions and confliction. The latest modification to the school curriculum that demands subjects as Art, Sports and Music to be dropped for subject such as information technology bares no exception.

To begin with, it is undeniable that in today’s digital day and age, children should definetely be taught about information technology. Firstly, learning about information technology can be very useful for future job opportunities as it is required in various fields of work. The main cause of that is that many businesses increasingly rely heavily on technology, thus making an information technology skillset essential in today’s job market. Moreover, not only does information technology helps children develop critical thinking, but it can also make them better at problem-solving. That is to say, information technology often requires troubleshooting problems and considering many solutions for the best outcome.

However, in my opinion, sports, music and art is the backbone of society. Firstly, these activities not only can bring children together and really allow them to express themselves, but also form ties and connections with one another as well as a sense of belonging. This means that it will be easier for the children to form strong friendships and really build a sense of community around them. Also, in goes without saying that the formative years of children can be very challenging and it is crucial that we encourage them to navigate all of their very complicated feelings and thoughts in a productive way. For instance, engaging in sports can be a great outlet for stress relief and taking care of their mental health.

In conclusion, to quote the iconic movie “The dead poets society”: medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble persuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, those are what we stay alive for. It is my heartfelt belief that even though information technology is important as a subject, sports, music and art should never be marginalized in the education of children as they are vital to their development as individuals.