Subjects such as Art, Sport, and Music are being dropped from the school curriculum for subjects such as Information Technology. Many children suffer as a result of these changes. To what extent would you support or reject the idea of moving these subjects from the school curriculum?

The modern educational system always strives for excellence, a need which has led to changes often described as controversial. A recent one regards the replacement of Arts, P.E and Music with subjects concentrated on technology. Personally, I find myself opposed to such decisions.

Since the breakout of the Industrial Revolution the world has faced radical advancements in the technological field. Thus, it is more than acceptable for schools to constantly reshape their curriculum in order to prevent new students from falling behind with this course of events. It is a well known fact that newer technology drives society forward, by making daily errands easier and providing individuals with a more accessible lifestyle. Adding to that, the employment market is reformed, where specialised human resource is largely favored, making its way to distinct careers. As a result, it is undoubtedly in the school’s responsibility not only to prepare young people to deal with those developments, but also to teach them how to take advantage of the plethora of opportunities presented to them.

Nonetheless, the educational system is equally responsible for cultivating all the aspects of a student’s character. Humans, as many would support, are multi-functional beings often suffocating in a strict monotonous routine. School’s most essential role is to help young ones discover their unique skillset. Every curriculum should be constructed on a basis of respect towards any student’s individuality, providing all the stimuli possible for development. Dropping subjects such as Art or Sports strips away all the incentive for trying new things and finding a field in which many people could thrive. Also, the above subjects equip students with crucial ideals and principles. Physical education promotes the love for a well balanced lifestyle and the values of discipline and cooperation, while Arts highlight the importance of critical thinking and expression.

In conclusion, I do believe that schools must live up to the drastic changes our society faces stepping into the next centuries. However, it is important that we don’t sacrifice a variety of useful assets in the sake of just being “contemporary”.