The international arms trade has become a major industry in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, the whole world is going through a severe humanitarian crisis because of war and other criminal activities. The global weaponry market has boosted significantly, although it has some advantages, from my perspective, the disadvantages outweigh the positive development of this industry.

On the one hand, there are quite a few advantages of the proliferation of weapons, and the first and foremost one is that it gives a country the strength and ability to safeguard its citizens, furthermore to deter the domination of foreign countries. For instance, the enormous bombing in Gaza by Israel clearly illustrates the importance that all countries should participate in the arms race so as to preserve their freedom. Secondly, many countries consider this industry as their economic growth; countries like Russia have turned their economy mostly to war and weapons, because they are one of the top distributors of weapons throughout the world.

On the other hand, this industry is a serious threat to human civilization because it has created severe global instability. The illegal arms trade fuels the violence and criminal activity and undermines social stability. This will lead to armed robbery, terrorism, and civilian casualties in the national level; however, it’s far more dangerous at the international level. For example, we can see the Iran and the USA war because of the nuclear weapon enrichment issue, many countries are supplying weapons to both countries, and this is becoming a breeding ground for violence in which the world is suffering now.

In conclusion, arms and weapons can never bring peace in the world without destruction. So, to maintain the freedom and prevent the domination of other countries, we should be enriched with arms but always prioritize world stability.