Success in formal "pen and paper' examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence. To what extent do you agree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence? How can students be Assessed?

Traditional paper based exams are tend to be evidence of student’s intelligence. These tests are able to decide either pupil goes trough it to a next level or has to study more due to lack of knowledge. However, some people argue that examinations are not result of mindset and they should play other roles.

There are clearly certain advantages to examinations. They could show you your results and your weak sides at the end of assessments. Therefore, you should take this advantage and upgrade your weak side. Also tests include several types of questions, such as multiple choice, writing essays, filling the blank and etc. . This means that you have to think in different ways on each of them.

However, I do not agree with this idea. Because intelligence is determined by several ways, not only examinations. Also assessments represent your knowledge on a certain field of education, not whole your intelligence. In addition, a lot of situations could happen during tests. For instance, pupil could fail assessment due to discomfort, noise, or even lack of concentration. And this fail does not make you as a low intelligence person. That failed student could surprisingly be smarter than teachers themselves, but not always, just in certain cases. Actually, I believe that examinations are not able to decide something in human’s life

To put in nutshell, I truly believe that assessments do not demonstrate level of intelligence. You don’t have to be human with high intelligence to pass examinations.