taking a gap year has negative impacts on students. do you agree or disagree

Some people opine that taking a prep-year definitely takes a heavy toll on learning-oriented individuals. From my standpoint, I firmly oppose this statement for two predominant rationales as follows.

First and foremost, taking a year off paves the way for self-exploration. This is attributed to the fact that a year away from work allows people to take on various part-time jobs, travel to different places, hence, thereby uncovering diverse fields and their own abilities. As a result, learners are likely to have sufficient factual knowledge and experience to make informed choices of majors and expertises, rather than selecting randomly. For instance, if students take a break before college in order to do some volunteer work, engage in other cultural occasions or go abroad, they may gain deeper insights into their strengths as well as multiple perspectives, enabling them to choose wisely based on these experiences. This fosters self-growth and job promotion in the future, now that they’re in a well-suited position. Thus, opting for a gap year can facilitate individuals’ self-discovery.

Secondly, taking a gap year ameliorates knowledge-seekers relationships’ expansion. While spending a large amount of time integrating into the mentioned collective activities, students might get in touch with like-minded and cross-class peers, and long-exposure to them would result in the widening of social circles and enhancing interpersonal skills. Consequently, they would have the opportunity to expand their horizons and even establish professional and academic support networks, promoting career advancement. On top of that, year-off students are also possibly assertive in communication, which is beneficial in job interviews and quick adaptation to the working environment. To illustrate, a survey by Victoria University of Wellington revealed that gap-year graduates reported higher levels of professional growth compared to those who did not. Through this lens, broadening social connection can be achieved through a sabbatical year.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my outlook that I object to the issue. Not only does taking time off foster self-reflection but also expand one’s bonds.