Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is said that there is an increase in household waste in some countries, which is caused by a wide range of reasons. This essay will outline some of the primary causes and viable solutions to this growing issue.

I believe that the growth in population is the key rationale behind the increase in the amount of dumped waste. As cities become overcrowded, the use of energy and materials escalates drastically over time. As a consequence, the dumping of household waste, such as plastics, increases. In addition, some countries are still struggling to develop technologically, let alone concentrating on the recycling of waste. Hence, landfill sites are neglected, causing a growing amount of unsolved waste. For instance, ASEAN countries like Thailand and Vietnam may not fully focus on recycling household waste due to other existing issues.

There are a number of possible solutions to this problem. Promoting the use of reusable materials is one of the effective methods to lay the foundation for household waste minimization owing to the inexpensive cost of putting the message forward to citizens through the Internet. Japan is one of the prominent examples for succeeding in reducing discarded waste by encouraging the usage of alternative materials. Similarly, stricter regulations can be applied by governments to reduce the disposal of household waste. This is because citizens do not normally want to break the rules, supporting the success of such projects. For example, if limits on how many times people can dispose of waste are set, there will most likely be a reduction in the amount of household waste.

In conclusion, even though it is clear that the increase in household waste still remains a growing concern, solutions can be implemented to prevent the exacerbation of the problem effectively.