Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a notable increase in the amount of domestic waste in many nations. This essay aims to shed light on the causes of this issue, and present viable solutions.

Heavy packaging and higher levels of consumption are the two main factors contributing to the given rising amount of waste. With regard to the former, a pertinent example here is electronic appliances, which are often put in cardboard boxes, wrapped around with plastic, and further protected from physical damage by styrofoam. However, as buyers only use the products, these layers of protection are often discarded afterwards. Another notable factor is the fact that people can buy a wider range of products more easily than in the past, which also means more waste is thrown away as a result. Perishables with short expiry dates and bottled drinks fall under this category and typically account for large shares of domestic waste.

Mitigating the current level of food waste would require efforts from both consumers and the authorities. The buyers themselves should reduce unnecessary purchases, especially when it comes to food, so as less is disposed of due to being expired. In a similar fashion, avoiding single-use items such as plastic utensils can also make a positive contribution. As for governments, they can implement more effective regulations with regard to the packaging of products and encourage more sustainable practices. For example, industries that use large amounts of packaging should be taxed more heavily, which would encourage them to find more optimal designs instead.

In conclusion, heavy packaging and higher consumption are responsible for increasing levels of household waste. To mitigate this issue, reforms in consumers’ habits and government policies are essential.