Task 2: In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, household waste is discussed as an extremely difficult problem to solve when it is not only decreasing but also affecting social life. While there are many reasons leading to this problem, families and governments can take steps to mitigate it.

There are two main causes for the rise in household waste. One major cause of this increase is overconsumption. In almost all countries, especially the United States, packaged foods or ready-to-eat meals were bought and used excessively to satisfy their busy states, so citizens have significantly considered it a culture of convenience and indispensableness. Furthermore, the lack of consumer awareness also contributes to the generation of a lot of domestic rubbish. Many consumers unconsciously destroy their living environment after choosing single-use products as their shopping priority. Otherwise, they do not know how to properly dispose of different types of waste.

Despite the issues outlined above, there are an array of ways to address them. The first option is for the government to enact laws restricting or outlawing single-use plastics and urging people to adopt tote bags or other alternatives that are environmentally friendly. Food packaging should also be recyclable or biodegradable. Furthermore, it is crucial to increase public awareness of the negative effects that excessive waste has on the ecosystem, such as campaigns to raise public awareness can greatly reduce household waste by teaching people the value of using reusable items, minimizing packaging waste, and practicing appropriate recycling.

In summary, this trend has two causes, which are overconsumption and lack of awareness. The government and individuals must work together to address the issue of home trash, emphasizing encouraging sustainable consumption habits and cutting packaging waste at its source so that it is no longer a dependent culture.