Task 2: In recent years, technological advancements have significantly changed the way people live and work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The breakthrough in technology has profoundly transformed the way humans live and work in the new century. However, I contend that the disadvantages of this development are outweighed by its benefits, especially in the view of the increased qualification of daily life and the enhanced productivity of working.

First and foremost, technological developments create a convenient life for all. Instead of spending excessive time going to the market, thanks to new technologies, people can browse to choose anything they need with only a few taps through E-commerce platforms such as TikTok shops, Shopee and spend the rest on shipping agencies, allowing them to allocate time to finish other needed tasks. Additionally, people can actively approach education because a huge amount of consistently updated pieces of information are always available on the Internet, reducing financial barriers and opening the opportunities of studying for many people.

Furthermore, technologies maximize productivity and accuracy in many industries with artificial intelligence and automation, consisting of automatic robots like surgery robots or modern pieces of machinery and assembly lines, supporting humans in various steps of an operating procedure and thus saving a significant amount of time and labor effort. Moreover, people derive flexibility in the workplace such as working in virtual rooms and immediate interactions with their colleagues by using laptops, smartphones, tableau, etc, dealing with problems quickly and ensuring projects are carried out smoothly even when people are not in the same place.

Despite many advantages, technology advances might bring some disadvantages to people. People can encounter a lot of cyber criminal activities caused by malware or hackers, in case they are not alert enough to realize the risk. However, if people learn how to protect themselves, these problems are not enormous troubles compared to technology’s advantages as presented above.

In conclusion, while technology provides certain drawbacks, such as offering people cyber criminal activities, these demerits are overshadowed by its positive effects. Shopping online, expanded educational opportunites, modernized operating procedures and the convenience of promoting working are all significant profits that highlight the sizable values new technologies created for people.