Task 2: In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has been a long time since humans learnt to cultivate their foods and with the evolutionary impact of technology and science, people would assume that all 7 billion of us would be sufficiently fed. However, many countries still suffer from famine and absence of healthy food and water. I believe that due to variety of political issues caused by dominant powers, those poor countries could not have the equal chance to prosper parallel to other nations. I would suggest that voluntary acts and public organizations could play a key role to save the poor from hunger.

The main reason behind this injustice is colonization. In the 16th century, after the advancement in naval industries, some of the strongest kingdoms initiated their expenditure to create their trade routes to the Asia and Africa. Before that, in order to get cinnamon, tea, silk, and etc. they would have to cross many countries that each would take a substantial amount of tax to let these merchants pass. Therefore, countries like Spain and tried to make much faster and affordable way to get their products by using oceans and seas. After arriving in America and Africa, they realized the native folks are not as advanced as they are and took advantage of this opportunity. They began making large farms, enslaving the natives to work for them for centuries. Countries like India were rich and prosperous until the UK decided to conquer those lands to their own profit. This tyranny resulted in centuries of oppression and restrictions when other countries were evolving into gigantic rulers of the globe.

Hence, I believe that we should help each other as equal human beings. It is plausible to assume that political authorities don’t want to lose their upper hand so most of them would not care about starving children in Africa and humanity. If dominated countries start to grow, they will lose all their profits. People should try to educate others about the dire situations those countries face and encourage them to aid as much as possible. For instance, non-profitable organizations like the Red Cross and others could transfer food and also professionals to the target countries in order to assist those in need.

In conclusion, although most countries have enough food to provide their societies, some unfortunate countries face hunger due to malicious acts of those in power. To help these humans, it is suggested that people should start campaigns to gather enough supplies to aid them.