Task 2: People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

In the contemporary world, the phenomenon of people continuing their detrimental behaviors persists after being processed. In this essay, I will discuss the reason for this problem before suggesting several practical solutions that can be implemented.

There are several reasons why people repeat their offender’s actions after receiving punishment for it. One of the most valid reasons is that they do not be punished effectively. Specifically, punishment might be too light and not deterrent enough to make the offender feel neither frightened nor regretful. For example, some robbers just face a slight fine for their theft; thus they may not be frightened or worried about the next crime. Another justified cause is that it lacks harsh surveillance. If the monitoring and enforcement system is weak, violators may think they can avoid being fined, even if they have been caught before.

To address this issue thoroughly, some feasible solutions can be applied. First and foremost, authorities should impose stricter legislation and punishment. Increasing the fine or doing community service is one of the most effective solutions as it can create a powerful impact like fear or apprehension on violators before repeating the crime. Besides, it is also necessary to enhance monitoring systems in each local area. To be more specific, improving the effectiveness of this system to ensure that violations are detected and handled promptly.

Local areas should use more cameras in local streets or organize regular patrol and monitoring groups in order to supervise the behaviors of criminals after being punished carefully.

In conclusion, Due to the lack of serious penalties and the feebleness of the monitoring system, people repeat their faulty actions constantly. For that reason, it is extremely crucial to implement certain possible solutions including fostering extreme laws and enhancing the supervisory system.