Task 2: People on their own can't do much to improve the environment. In contrast, only governments and big companies can make real changes.Do you agree or disagree with this belief? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

Whether taking responsibility of improving the environment is individual duty or only governments and big sectors can make significant changes has been a topic of debate. In this essay, I would evaluate both schools of thought before proposing my own perspective on this matter.

On the one hand, residents are often a main core of every actions. People can create a positive effect on protecting the environment throughout their changes in their lifestyle and habits. For example, if each person is comprehensively aware of being more “green”- using alternative energy, recycling and reuseing their own waste, or reducing their carbon footprint, it would help in working to lessen the environmental issues. Nevertheless, this justification does not take into account the fact that single actions and lack of widespread in educationally environmental solutions of people can not make real changes in environment improvement. For instance, almost dwellers do not have certain knowledge in ways to prevent and treat waste that might lead to mistakes in protecting the environment.

On the other hand, governments and big companies play a key role in tackling the environment issues. As stricter regulations could be imposed by governments in order to mitigate some harmful activities such as industrialization, improper disposal of waste and overconsumption of resources. These activities can be reduced through governments punishments. If taxes are imposed more in big sectors when they create too much wastes and damages to the environment, they might find ways to make their products more eco-friendly and easy to recycle. Additionally, when it comes to the fines, people would be more aware of their behaviours in attempt to deal with the environment issues.

In conclusion, despite people’s actions are key to make considerable changes for protecting the environment, I believe it is more a responsibility of the governments and big companies in the impact that can cope with challenges in foster a better environment.