Task 2: Some parents try to decide their children's future careers and personal choices because they want them to become good citizens and successful adults. However, they often ignore their children's own opinions and interests. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Controlling parenting has been a concerning and controversial issue for a long period of time. Particularly, the children’s future careers and personal choices, even if their viewpoints and passions are being dismissed. I totally disagree with this issue. This essay will discuss to what extent does controlling is good and bad for children.

Initially, children’s future and choices must be decided based on their own enthusiasms and personality. Restricting to “successful” by norms’ paths, such as doctors, lawyers,… without the willingness kills not only their freedom but also their personality, leading to a boring world with pressure of being successful and good citizens. But the thing is, what does successful and good really mean to humans, especially children? Is it to be rich or have a stand in society? For instance, the pressure of meeting parents’ expectations has caused many suicides in young people. Consequently, children will lack independence, confidence and be indifferent to their life as well as their perspectives.

On the other hand, because of having experienced failure and being caring, some parents are afraid their child would be hurt. However, that will leave harsh consequences for children. Parents should guide children, lead them to the world they want to live in, with all their passions and interests. For example, an adolescent who lives without restrictions from parents can develop independence, expressing emotions and viewpoints comprehensively.

In conclusion, parents should guide their children through their experience, not strictly suppress their children’s dreams and personality.