Task 2: Some people say that the government should decide what subjects a student can study, while others believe the students should decide what they want to study. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

A number of people believe that the government should choose what a student study, while others think that student should choose and decide what they want to study. This essay will shed light on both views.

On one hand, it is believed that the government have the right to decide what student should study for one main reason which is the government have enough knowledge more than students about what subjects do jobs need. Due to this, they decide what subjects students should study. In addition, as a result of the changes that happened these days in the whole world the governments knows what the important subjects and what subjects are require these days .For example, there is report produced in the UK shows that many jobs now require student who knows math, that led the governments in all the world to make their students learn math in schools and universities.

On the other hand, some people think the student should choose what they want to study and give them the freedom for one main reason. If the student decides what they want to study, they will become more independent and responsible. As they will choose their subjects and they will take all the responsibility if their choices are wrong. As result of this, students will become more independent, and they will think before doing any things which will help them in their life. Moreover, when students study what they like, they will usually succeed, feel happy and they also will study hard.

In conclusion, both views have positive points, but personally ,I think student should have the right to select what they want to study. Thus, the government should give the students the right to choose what they want to study in schools or even in the universities.