Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As per some views, one of the factors affecting peoples health is pollution and housing problems and that government should take steps to reduce it. I agree to the statement and would explain the appropriate reason in the essay.

Most of the diseases, including asthma, cancer, dengue etc. are caused through air pollution & water pollution. The impurity in the air is one of the leading resons of growing lung cancer cases and breathing issues in children as well. Similarly, fruits and vegetables grown on the polluted land lack nutritional values and waterbourne diseases have been popular since decades. The strongest step to reduce pollution is that the government intervenes in this matter as there are no strict rules for the factories to try and control the amount of waste which is realised in the enviornment.

If the government puts fine and taxes on this then difinitely ther would emerge a solution to the issue. Next thing to be focused on is the housing problems. People living on the streets or in slums could easily are prone to diseases. Not only would this cause a trouble to them but it could be widespread among others through physical contacts. This indicates that only the ruling authorities could rehabilitate them to a better hygenic place for their as well as the safety of others.

However, it is considerable that even if the efforts are made by the state it could be extremely difficult to make each and everyone follow the rules. But that does not mean that steps are not taken for improvement at all. As it is rightly said, “Small steps go a long way”. So, constant efforts are requied to improve the situation