Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are discussions amongst people about how governments should focus on the reduction of environmental pollution and solving housing problems in order to prevent illnesses and diseases. I believe that pollution can effect the health of citizens, but housing and living situation don’t directly expose people to sickness.

It is true that environmental pollution has major health risks, for example; bad air quality can cause respiratory problems and can even cause long-term diseases such as lung cancer. Water pollution is also a possiblity, contaminated water may cause poisoning and other health problems. The government is responsible to have environmental measures to lower air pollution and to distribute clean water to people. Therefore focusing on reducing environmentl pollution can prevent illness and disease.

Governments cannot prevent health issues by solving housing problems as city planning and master planning does not expose people to sickness, but it can be a solution to development of the place in areas such as homelessness and rent control. I agree to an extent that cities and towns should be located where there is access to clean air and water, but the focus on housing problem has no immediate effect on the prevention of health problems. Hence, governments shouldn’t focus on it for illnesses but to solve other living situation issues.

To conclude, I would like to agree that governments are responsible for reducing environmental pollution in order to prevent illness and disease, as they can prevent and monitor air, and water pollution. However, focusing on housing problems does not expose people to sickness and it is not an issue that will help with the prevention.