Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that governments should prioritise sustaining a clean environment and ensuring safe homes for their citizens to reduce the possibility of diseases. I personally agree with this idea, and in the following paragraphs, I will provide arguments to substantiate my position.

There is no doubt that gases emitted from factories contribute to the development of critical health problems that cannot be ignored. For example, in industrial areas, the amount of carbon fumes can cause DNA mutations in newborns, which in severe cases, might lead to an early lung cancer. Furthermore, companies that donot follow the safety guidelines for toxic chemical waste disposal, as they are pretty expensive to apply, greatly affect major resources that all humans depend on, such as water.

Another major factor in maintaining an individual’s health is providing a home that can withstand the harsh weather conditions. As a result, this will build a shield that can protect from illness that is connected to certain type of weather, such as flu in winter and heat strokes in summer. Although some counties does not take that seriously, as they think focusing on medical research takes precedence, countries like Japan understand how crucial this is and built houses that can withstand the continuous rain that may affect the health of their citizens.

In conclusion, the idea of focusing on the reduction of enironmental air pollution and securing safe houses for the people to prevent diseases is one i fully support, since they are connected to many important health aspects that haveto be dealt with.