Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many people have expressed significant concerns regarding housing and environmental issues, leading to many nagging problems, which is why some believe that the authorities should take measures to tackle. Although some disagree with such a policy, I contend that such an approach can prevent potential illness and enhance the residents’ overall well-being.

Granted, many opponents consider this practice too impractical. First and foremost, they claim that the environment is at an alarming rate and it is almost impossible to reverse. Global disaster frequently occur, perticipating in destructive consequences that affect inhabitants’ life. For instance, the Yagi typhoon which stroke Central Vietnam in 2024 had brought heavy rain, strong winds and flooding, leaving thousands of homes damaged and affecting the lives of many people. These catastrophic results suggest that the governments cannot act to prevent environmental problems and everyone should follow the laws of nature. Regarding housing, these advocates also argue that there is no clear correlation between substandard housing or housing crisis or health outcomes. Therefore, they would consider authorities intervention redundant and unfeasible when it comes to improving people’s living.

Nevertheless, I contend that the aforementioned perspectives have glossed over the fact that although national authorities cannot reverse the phenomenon , they can greatly implement changes to make the future a better place to live. One primary reason is that addressing environmental problems can gradually better population health. When pollution is under control, it will ensure long-term public health by preventing illegal dumping and protecting clean water. Studies in Hanoi in 2019 suggested that the overall conditions of the country were improved substantially when they implemented laws regarding restrictions on toxic gas released into the air. In the same token, governments can take steps to provide stable accommodation, therefore help to reduce stress and anxiety in large cities. Implementation suc as upgrading housing quality in underpriviledged areas creates safer living environments, facilitating higher conditions of life.

In light of the above, although some people argue that the authorities intervention is unworkable, I would contend that these steps can substantially reduce illness linked to dirty air, unsafe water, and inadequate housing, thereby ensure the overall well-being of the public. For these reasons, it is imperative for national governments to take significant actions in tackling environmental and housing problems to help build a more resilient population that supports economic growth.