TASK 2: Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

In the present world, people have different views on whether studying history is still relevant today. While some individuals believe that the past holds little or no value to the modern world. However, some people would argue that studying history is essential to understanding the fast-paced modern world deeply. In my opinion, I believe that learning history remains valuable in today’s world.

On the one hand, people who support the former opinion argue that the rapid growth of industrialization and urbanization makes studying history now useless. Fast-paced technological developments have led to numerous challenges, such as climate change and conflict, which make history unworthy when facing these issues. Consequently, they think relying on history may be misleading or even ineffective when dealing with the world’s problems. For that reason, many people think that it is more important to focus on technology and industrial innovation instead of studying history.

Although these arguments are right, there are several reasons that history still offers some significant values. Despite the world changing over time, humans and society make the same mistakes. By studying historical events, people can recognize the mistakes they made in the past and avoid repeating them in the future. The most typical example is Vietnam, by learning from it is past mistakes, Vietnam has become a fast-developing and also a stable country in the world by having good diplomatic relations with other nations.

In conclusion, while some people argue that history is no longer a relevant topic in the modern age, I believe that society should continue to study the past lessons from the past, instead of neglecting them. History did not contribute much to the modern world, but it offers experiences from the past, so that society and the government can make wiser decisions in the present or the future.