Task 2: Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others believe that individuals can also do some things to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the claim that issues regarding environment are too significant for individual to address, while the other argue that gorvernment effort cannot succeed without citizen’s participation. Although both school of thoughts of certain merits, I contend with the latter opinion.

Apparently, environmental problem is far beyond the capability of each citizen. Firstly, this problem is a global phenomenon that demands thorough corporation of the world. Pollution and climate change are mainly caused by manufacturing, travelling and trading between countries as carbon emissions from those activities cross borders and affect the environment. Therefore, treaties and commiments relating to this issues require nations to reach a high level of consensus. Secondly, individuals do not have the rights to impose regulations and laws on their own. As metioned before, this is a large-scale problem, which also affects economy and politics of every nation. Thus, lawmakers and relavant authorities need comprehensive consideration before approving any resolutions. Furthermore, if gorvernment lacks rigorous guidelines and frequent monitoring, factories will necglect the consequence and inevitably prioritize their benefits over the environment.

Conversely, I strongly believe that authorities cannot achieve their purpose without the action of individuals. The final result can only be effectively established when city dwellers decide to take action by obeying the regulation as well as seperating different forms of trash. At this point, citizens play a pivotal role as they determine whether the campaign achieves tangible results or becomes in vain. Additionally, consumers’ behaviors of each individual also drive the products on the market towards sustainable material. Products of companies and factories are merely based on the preference of consumers. Therefore, if buyers opt for cheap or instant products, manufacturers have to utilize non-ecofriendly materials, which contain toxic chemicals to balance between the market demand and profits. As a consequence, it is more challenging for relevant departments to effectively control this environmental issues.

In conclusion, pollution is a worldwide problem. I believe that robust resources and intervention from the gorvernment are very important, however, individuals’s actions are also important to succesfully establish a greener world.