Task 2 Writing (Academic and General Training) You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

It has been an age long debate between youngsters and the older generation regarding which medium of education is more effective- the classic old school ways like reading or the more techonological route like watching videos and TV. I personally believe that nothing can compare to the knowledge that books can offer.

Reading allows one to complete immerse themselves in the learning process and absorb every detail they read. Books and reading allow the student to go beyond two dimentional education. They are resbosible for shaping a student’s thought process. Due to lack of visual representation in the form of pictures, which is the case for most textbooks, students are forced to challenge themselves to imagine what they have read so as to grasp a better understanding of the concepts explained in the texts. They have to challenge themselves to think out the box when faced with complicated passages within the books. This in a way allows students to apply themselves and the knowledge they have read. They become more adept in dealing with real life tasks because they have spent time analysing various theories they have read.

While digital mediums of education like TV and videos are effective, they tend to cause issues in the long run. One of the basic problems faced by students, who are exposed to digital education is, distraction. As a result of the two dimentional nature of the educational content, a lot of students find themselves getting distracted and zoning out during the video lectures. Due to this loss of interest in the subject matter, they donot try to understand the concept and naturally, later, it gives rise to an aversion to the subject altogether.

Another issue that arises from digital learning is the inability of student to think and apply themselves. Digital education is an extremely robotic method of education where data, in this case, eductional concepts, are simply fed to students who hear and see what is being displayed. Since TV and videos already provide a visual representation of the content, the students are no longer required to try and visualize it themselves. This slowly but surely kills their ability to comprehend data as they become used to the idea of not having to think and analyse.

I, therefore, agree that reading is more educational than watching tv or videos as digital mediums of education purely destroy a students thinking abilty while reading boosts it, allowing them to evolve as enlightened beings.