Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes for this task. Write about the following topic: In some countries it is common for students as young as 15 to get a part time job while they go to school. However, some parents would rather their children focus entirely on their studies. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is becoming prevalent for children to get a part-time job at the age of 15 while continuing school. While I understand the benefits of children getting a job early on, I believe the advantages of focusing on school outweigh the positives.

Many parents prefer their children to get a job at such an early age of 15, due to two reasons, the first one being preparing their children for the work environment. Children will be attending University and will have to work there while continuing their studies. Many parents wish for their children to get used to this environment and the hardships. Many college students encounter difficulties with their work schedule as it is a new experience and may contain difficulties such as low income, long working hours, and a balance between academic studies and work hours, this results in a long period of adjusting to these difficulties. The second reason why parents believe children should get a job at the age of 15 is so that they may earn their independence. Being able to be independent and have income prepares children for a university life where they must accomplish many events on their own. Many events may include paying for their meals, books, and sometimes even the tuition of schools, while doing this many children tend to struggle to work enough hours to earn enough money, therefore many parents prefer that their children are prepared for such hardships.

Despite the disadvantages I stated above I believe that children should focus on their academic studies. Many people believe that children should focus on their academic programs rather than getting a part-time job at an early age due to two reasons. The first reason is that children depend on their high school years to be successful throughout their university lives and later on in the work environment. This is due to the intense amount of studying and schoolwork that forms a GPA. Many people do not want to risk this success. Numerous people who focus on their academic careers in high school may tend to receive more acceptance letters from universities, which may help them to build a better future for themselves. Another reason why children should focus entirely on their studies is because taking the workload of both school and a job at such an early age can cause children to feel burnt out. As the hours that a child must take on responsibilities increases, the amount of time they may get resting or socializing also decreases which leads to a feeling of being burnt out. Many children are seen to be burnt out by the time they reach the age to attend university and are unable to show the academic success they had in high school due to them being overwhelmed and exhausted. Therefore from my perspective, children should focus on their education rather than getting a job to ensure their success in university and the workplace.

In conclusion, it seems that many children are prepared for the hardships of their future by their parents, and many parents believe that children should focus on their studies. I believe that children should not risk their success or take the risk of feeling burnt out in their future, in order to be prepared for the possible hardships in their future.