TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Over the past few years, the means of communication among different groups of people have altered significantly due to the development of modern technological devices. As a consequence, this has severely impacted on social relationships between family members and friends. In my opinion, such breakthroughs in technology could bring about both benefits and drawbacks.

Firstly, it is obvious that the majority of people have become more detached from each other since the technology has become developed. This is because they feel unbothered when it comes to people to people communication, there have been little or no in-person contact between them. Instead, modes of communication among people have been shifted to digital platforms as it seems easier, and as a result, people often refuse to socialize in real life while they can readily reach out to each other via online. Young people are also becoming addicted to the internet nowadays, since they find using a wide variety of features available at online communication tools more satisfying than verbal communication.

Although there is a huge step forward in applying electronic gadgets and digital devices more widely in economical sector, there are also certain drawbacks in terms of social perspective. For example, the use of technology in service industry and office work can greatly enhance the flow of work on a daily basis, streamlining business to customer relation, maintaining long-term customer’s loyalty. That being said, social bodings between people often get undervalued compared to the past. There is a lack of sympathy and a sense of compassion within each person. As a result, there seems to be more violence occurred in society.

To conclude, it is wise not to overly depend on modern technological devices due to some downsides of them which are not possible to ignore. The more strategic approach would be to have a mix of both face-to-face communication and a certain amount of technological interventions.