Technological progress in the past century has its negative effect, despite its remarkable contribution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, there have been various changes in the lifestyle of people across the world. It is often said that this advancement in technology has negative impacts as compared to its several advantages. I completely agree with the statement as this progress has also affected the world severely and the reasons will be elaborated in the below paragraphs.

To begin with, the development in technology has brought numerous benefits.Firstly, tourism industry has prospered drastically as distances are no longer a barrier as due to manifold means of transport, people can travel conveniently.For instance, commuting consumes less time and is more comfortable due to different modes of transportation like air planes, bullet trains and other means.As a consequence, it has led to boost in revenues in tourism and providing employment to people globally. Moreover, the advancement in communication or information technology like phones and internet has changed the way people communicate across the globe.

On the other hand, numerous demerits have arisen due to this situation.First and foremost, there has been an excessive consumption of fossil fuels which is a non-renewable energy source leading to environmental pollution and global warming. To exemplify, fuels like petrol, diesel are used inordinately in vehicles resulting in increase in global temperature. Apart from that, the progress in nuclear energy is a major threat to human life due to its detrimental effects of radiation leaks which can even affect the future generation of all living species.

To recapitulate, it is undeniable that progression in technology definitely has drawbacks nevertheless, the advantages can surely not be avoided as it has provided countless benefits to human beings and has led to several new inventions and discoveries which are ultimately advantageous for all.