Technology has changed the way children spend their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Some people reckon that the way children spend their free time has altered because of innovative technologies. There are advantages to this, but I feel that it is also a risk and could lead to some problems.

The first upside of this trend is that new technology could promote learning and skills development. The key rationale is that there are many educational apps or games that could help children foster acquisition of knowledge without pressure. For instance, children could learn several subjects such as science, mathematics or history by themself through online education platforms and this is also a good way to help children enhance their perception of self-study. In addition, technologies such as social media, video chat have become a potential means of communication that allow kids to connect with their family or friends. In particular, some childrens spend their free time on the device to contact their family members or friends so it could help to increase the connection relationship between kids and family or friends.

However, there are several negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. The considerable downside of this trend is that teenagers are prone to frequently use modern technologies like laptops, computers for games or watching TV. The key argument here is that constantly spent time on screen may cause some physical health such as obesity, sleep disorders or eye strain. For example, when kids always spent their free time on online entertainment platforms, they would not follow any outdoor activities and spent less time on playing sports. Another drawback of this issue is that kids are too young to control a large amount of information on the internet. The key argument here is that teenagers are always curious and sometimes they could not distinguish whether the information is right or wrong. For instance, adolescents could be stimulated by some violent stories or curious hint on the internet so that could pose a risk to mental health such as anxiety or behavioral issue and these negative information could impact on children’s psychology

In conclusion, innovative technologies can be beneficials for children because they are not only good academic modalities but also a means of communication. However, they should be careful that it causes some mental health or physical problems.