television injects violence in children, and programs with violent scenes should be banned. do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Nobody would dispute the fact that many programs on television include violent scenes, especially action and horror movies. I hold the view that they should not be allowed, however many people disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and give reasons for my opinion.

Firstly, research suggests that people who watch violent programs and play violent computer games may worry more about their own safety, which can lead to problems in society. For instance, when people are worried about their safety, they are more likely to react aggressively towards strangers. Secondly, few people would contest that some children copy what they see on television and in computer games. Hence, if they are watching and interacting with violence on a daily basis it is likely that they will copy this type of behavior. Finally, there are more beneficial activities that children could be participating in such as playing a sport or reading a book.

However, there are those who argue that violence is not something we learn from television and computer games. For example, nobody would contest the fact that there were murders before television and videogames were invented. In addition, it is often claimed that children cannot watch violent programs and play inappropriate videogames easily. For instance, there are restrictions for some programs and games, and many parents do not allow their children to watch television after a certain time.

To conclude, although there are some reasonable arguments against higher restrictions on violent videogames and programs for children, there can be no doubt that the potential disadvantages of children copying what they see and hear in these programs and games far outweigh the advantages of having free access to them. Furthermore, current restrictions are ineffective and easy to ignore. Therefore governments and local institutions should do more to promote alternative activities and to engage young people in their local communities from an early age.