Tell us about your interest and experience in your civic engagement program. What do you hope to learn about and experience during the Fellowship? What about your background and interests makes you competitive for these themes?

My top choices are innovation, entrepreneurship, and economic empowerment. I have always been interested in entrepreneurship, and i have sold items since I was a young child, such as cards in elementary school, slime and squishies in middle school, and drawings I did for people even though I am not very good at drawing. I also participated in a business project run by the Institute of Business and Technology Pelita Indonesia when I was a college student. Three of us worked on this project, which required us to create a new brand as well as create a proposal, logo, banner, promotion, and product sales.

My second option is civic engagement. In middle school, I volunteered for a lot of different things, such as planting 250 pieces of trees, visiting orphanages to play with the children and provide for their basic needs, and now I’ve joined a group called Wisdom Community. I volunteer in this community in a variety of ways. For example, I organized an event called “Disability Got Talent,” which was my first experience volunteering here. I gained valuable insights, how to learn sign language with deaf people, and I was astonished by the talent that my disability friends presented. There are a few disabled people in my village as well, but they don’t receive the same treatment as they used to. In fact, it’s very difficult for them to find employment because of their condition. Because of this, I truly want to brag to them so they feel more confident and at least like they have a skill and knowledge which they can use to make money.

For the fellowship program, my goal is to learn as much as I can about a variety of topics. Since the program allows participants to interact with people from other countries, my first goal is to learn about their cultures and how they would approach social issues. I also want to know how another community makes money and maintains its finances, particularly with regard to investments, and I want to acquire skills that I can use in my own community.