The achievement of high marks at school is mainly the result of natural intelligence and not so much hard work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

There has always been a debate within the community whether the high achievers at school were naturally gifted in academic skills or are their excellent marks the result of countless hours of studying at home. This is a very common discussion among students and parents and in this essay we will try to figure out which point of view is closer to reality.

On the one hand, quite a few people are certain that academic success stems from innate capability. This is quite obvious especially in the earlier stages of a child’s education where in a class full of students, a small percentage can be identified that excels in a field without much help from the teachers. For instance, some children are adept at math when the majority can struggle significantly.

On the other hand, as students get to later classes intelligence will not be sufficient in order to succeed. It is then that a lot of students catch up with the brightest of the bunch through their hard and continuous work. In this stage it is observed that many of the gifted children feel that they can achieve high marks only through their natural intelligence so they show limited dedication towards their subjects. Therefore, in my opinion the matter of success depends on both factors but hard work needs to be implemented by everyone or they will stay behind regardless of their natural gifts.

In conclusion, talent is marvelous to observe specifically in young people but the most important aspect of it is to always stay curious and practice even if you feel that you are better than everyone at your class. Otherwise the hard working students will eventually catch up or even surpass you in academic success.