The advantages of robots doing the basic serving functions in the entertainment, leisure and retail sectors of the economy outweigh the disadvantages.

This model answer has been prepared by an examiner as a very good answer. However, please note that this is just one answer out of many possible approaches.

With the use of robots in manufacturing now a fact of life, we are now moving towards a time in which the retail and service industries are replacing workers with robots as well. Whilst there are some clear benefits for employers, I feel that overall, their use would be disadvantageous, particularly for consumers or employees.

At face value, it is easy to see why many industries are turning to robots. With today’s technology, it is possible to produce machines that can accomplish many of the tasks that humans do. What is more, from an employer’s perspective, robots are economically a better proposition in that they do not require wages, they do not get sick, and they do not take industrial action against their employers.

However, using robots to build cars is one thing. Using robots in service industries is a very different matter. Whilst it can be argued robots could manage basic service functions, such as selling tickets or even preparing food and drinks, these are not the only service roles performed by entertainment, leisure and retail workers. These industries are all based on making consumers feel looked after, which requires the human touch. Can robots effectively deal with complaints from dissatisfied customers? Would a robot be able to effectively be able to advise a consumer on the product that best suits their sense of style or personality? The answer is probably no to both questions. In addition, the use of service robots would rob many unskilled workers of potential employment, putting a strain on the economy and reducing the overall amount of disposable income for leisure pursuits.

In summary, whilst it is clear that there are some limited advantages to having service industry robots, given that such industries are very much based on providing an enjoyable customer experience, the lack of human interaction would outweigh this in my opinion and be ultimately detrimental to the service they are offering.