The arts, including art, music, and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

There is no doubt individuals consider that the arts, such as music and theatre have to be a significant part of society. In my opinion, the arts are not that necessary nowadays, however, for children in schools it would be good as an activity.

With regard to the first question, in today’s modern society where values change so fast, the arts do not return or develop as rapidly as IT or other modern jobs. For some people, painting, acting, or watching theatre could be the only goal and pleasure in their life, on the other hand it is not as preferable or privileged to survive in this cold area as before. To illustrate, there is no doubt that all people know the picture called Mona Lisa. This popular “masterpiece” was analyzed to be worth nearly 1 billion dollars for one picture, in addition at that time, people were rushing to see this picture in real life. However, today, human beings mostly watch it on social media where AI already can create, moreover even sell, this kind of masterpiece for big money. As a result, it shows that work by human hands is not as valuable as it was in a rapidly changing world.

Turning to the second question, adding arts to schools as a subject would be nice.The reason is that students in school already have a huge schedule of subjects, and during all the subjects children have to brainstorm information, do exercises, and memorise all the stuff, what is more they have to do a list of homework in each lesson. In this case, students get uncountable stress, less controlled emotions, and not enough free time to be a child. The arts, which are just for emotions and pleasure, would be helpful for students to handle issues and,moreover, to be more concentrated in lessons too. For instance, the National Endowment for the Arts took an experiment in America which showed that the students who mostly spend time on arts lessons illustrated unbelievable results in the school programs and in their daily life, such as an increase of imagination, problem-solving value, and creating new ideas.

In conclusion, it can be clearly seen that in the modern world, arts are not as valuable as they were in the past, however, for the creation of new individuals, schools should add arts for students to spend time on breathtaking adventures.