The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The existence of video games as a type of entertainment could adversely affect to individuals and the society. Some believed that the gaming can be beneficial to people particularly to socialize and also gives a feeling of relaxation. However, spending a lot of time sitting behind the screen could affect individuals’ health and academic performance, which is more negative from my point of view.

On the one hand, according to some findings that has been based on the effects of gaming on individuals. It was found that the for some people who has a fear of being alone or who suffers from being isolated gaming could be a good solution for such kind of cases. For example, for individuals who even avoids or struggles with communication could play online games and start to interact with other players. In addition to this, the ones who do not have personal computers could visit the gaming clubs, and as results befriend with some other gamers. Another positive side of spending time behind the monitor is relaxation. After a hard-working day or long study hours, taking a rest in the way of games could be the one of the best solutions. It was mentioned in some articles that the players reportedly are less inclined to lose their temper and usually remain calm. There is a plethora of positive effects of gaming on individuals and to society which remained uncovered.

At the same time, I believe that the gaming has its own negative perspectives. Of which could be getting worse of individuals’ eyesight, nervous system, and another various types of health issues could appear. For instance, the most of the gamers has some problems with their eyes as they spent most of their time looking at the screen of the computer. Majority of gaming clubs have their lights switched of in order to create a magic or mysterious condition so the gamers play without lights which also results in loss of vision. Moreover, among youths playing games not only cause health problems, but also affect their studies. Studying requires a lot of effort while gaming not, as a consequence most of the young generation prefers to spend their precious time by playing games. This is a primarily driver of getting worse of youths’ academic performance.

In conclusion, it is true that the benefits of gaming could not outweigh the bad side of it. Gaming could be a good for taking a rest and for socialization, but individuals health are more important than these satisfactions.