The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to rapid development of technology, some individuals argue that entertainment, such as games available on cell phones, has detrimental effects on society. From my perspective, although there are some productive educational games, others may widely affect people negatively. Therefore, I strongly agree with this statement and I will discuss my reasons in this essay.

Excessive usage of entertaining programs on electronic devices can be followed by some health-related negative implications. Long hours of using electronic devices require constant sitting or concentrating on the screens. As a result, physical health issues, such as damaging eyesight, back and neck problems, may emerge in the future. Another drawback is the possibility of mental disorders in some individuals, who play aggressive games relentlessly. When people interact with aggressive content, they are more likely to act the same way themselves. The main reason is that continuous exposure to a particular attitude will eventually influence behaviors, since the human brain is substantially adaptable to its environment. For instance, recent studies among teenagers suggest that those who play violent games are more prone to get involved in a fight at school.

On the other hand, some minor positive outcomes can be seen from entertainment. For instance, educational games can expand children’s knowledge on various subjects that would ultimately benefit a society by preparing more well-educated people. However, children often consider these games as tedious and prefer playing other purely entertaining programs. The main reason is that children can distinguish educational content from entertainment and thus they mostly choose more engaging games. This being said, even if children show interest in these apps, the negative physical results still cannot be overlooked.

In conclusion, while it is true that entertainment programs on electronic devices may lead to minute positive effects, it is also important to consider the substantial negative consequences. Significant physical and mental issues can emerge in individuals, regardless of the programs being educational or not. Consequently, I firmly believe that society may struggle with the drawbacks of using portable electronic devices for entertainment purposes in the future.