The best way for a government to prepare for the future is to invest resources in its young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the future, it is probable that governments will need to devote more resources to the training and education of young people. While there are other areas in which investment is necessary to promote the future well-being and happiness of everyone, I agree that governments should prioritise expenditure on investment in the younger generation.

In order to prepare for the future, governments need to adopt policies which will result in socio-economic changes that will benefit everyone and provide funding for these policies. One policy should be to pour money into space research. For example, people already enjoy new means of communication as a result of satellite technology, and the conquest of space opens all kinds of possibilities for the future. Another policy which should be high on the agenda for government funding is to deal with the ecological crisis which the world is facing. Resources must be allocated to policies to take action on global warming and to achieve sustainable development.

However, I agree with the view that in order to prepare for the future, the best option for governments is to invest in the training and education of young people. Young people will pioneer further advances in technology. For instance, they will be the astronauts who undertake space missions and establish new space stations. They will develop robotics technology, which is still in its infancy. Young people will lead the environmental challenge which threatens human existence, and funding their education should provide them with the skills and social conscience to create a greener society.

In conclusion, I wholly agree that the best way to meet the challenges of the future is for governments to invest resources in educating and training the younger generation as its top priorit