The best way to learn a foreign language is by studying in a foreign country

Nowadays many people are interested in studying a foreign language. Some of them want to be able to watch a movie without subtitles or get a degree in a highly reputable international university. No matter what the reason is, the way of studying a foreign language is important. I absolutely agree that studying a language in a country where this language is spoken is a huge advantage for a student. There are several reasons for that.

First of all, when learning abroad, you are exposed to new language patterns all the time, which helps you to memorise it quickly. In addition, you learn new words in a form of phrases and collocations. I consider this approach to be more effective than learning separate words, based on my own experience. When I first went abroad after almost ten year of learning English in school, I knew a lot of words but found it very difficult to build sentences and communicate with people.

Another benefit of learning language in a foreign country is high motivation. Because you need to survive in a completely new environment where not only everything is new, but even a well-known instrument like communication is no longer easy to use, you have to adapt accordingly. It gives you an incredible boost of energy and desire to be aligned with the society in that country.

In conclusion, I would like to highlight that if a student has a chance to learn a new language abroad, they definitely should do it. This way gives you an understanding of how to use language and not only learn.