The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to ensure that goods are transported safely, encouraging drivers to undergo an annual driving test is the most effective method. I completely support this idea, as it will help update their knowledge and as well serve as a means of identifying old drivers.

The first benefit of this approach is updating drivers knowledge. This is because, as time goes by, the knowledge gained during the course of initial training might have been forgotten, as some may no longer remember the basics of driving. Also, when their memories are refreshed about the traffic rules, regulations, steering management and wheel balancing,for example,the incidence of road accidents are minimized.

Another reason for this, is the identification of aged drivers. Aging comes with a lot of setbacks and it is inevitable. For the elderly drivers, they are no longer strong as their muscles became weak. Additionally, their visions become blurry as a result of aging. With this plan of a yearly training, drivers like this will be fished out and encouraged to retire in order to avoid driving errors and mistakes.

On the other hand, there is an argument that an annual test is not a better idea. It is believed to cause stress for the drivers. Doing a particular activity every year can be exhausting and will lead to lack of motivation. Some of the test are difficult and in order to avoid this, the operators may choose not to drive again. As a consequence of this, goods will no longer reach the final consumers.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that an annual test should be conducted for transporters of goods to refresh their knowledge and as well help recognize the weak drivers.