The best way to plan a holiday is by not planning at all to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is often considered that the most effective way to experience a wide range of emotions is by embarking on spontaneous journeys. Personally, I strongly disagree with this common belief because unplanned trips may often result in unproductive and chaotic holidays.

First, tourists who make spontaneous trips to new places can often end up visiting a limited number of destinations. Organising holidays in various places requires pre-investigating well-known attractions and creating a timeline that can help tourists to productively spend their holidays. However, when people spare less time on researching the city’s both well-trodden tourist destinations and off the beaten track locations, they eventually tend to feel the sense of stress and exhaustion instead of positive and adrenaline-rush. This is because they have a small chunk of time to find suitable accommodations, flights, transportations and tourist attractions. As a result, these factors can create a huge pile of problems that often complicate visitors’ unplanned trips.

A great example comes from our family’s trip to Istanbul, Turkey. We decided to have a one-week holiday without planning anything to experiment if we can truly enjoy it. Even though we booked our hotel earlier, we did not prepare a list of destinations to visit. During our trip, we ended up experiencing fatigue and spending more money than we initially intended. Some tourist places were closed when we arrived, some of them were unreasonably expensive and in the end, stormy weather completely changed our last-minute decided plans. If we had planned our trip meticulously and created a timeline, we would have spent our holiday productively without experiencing a chaotic atmosphere. This lesson taught us about the importance of careful management before embarking on different journeys overseas.

In conclusion, despite the common belief of going out on trips spontaneously to experience an adrenaline-rush state, individuals must plan their holidays carefully. Based on my own experience, I strongly contend that unplanned journeys often result in disappointing impressions.