The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs and the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that the most effective way to address the transportation and traffic issues is to enhance rural-to-urban migration policies. From my perspective, I strongly opine that the drawbacks of this trend clearly surpass its merits.

Rural migration could help reduce this problem in some ways. Firstly, encouranging people to live in cities may reduce commuting distances and spend less time on roads, that means a decrease in the number of private vehicles. That may lead to ease traffic congestion, especially in rush hours in large cities such as Ha Noi and Ho Chi Minh. Secondly, concentrated urban population has a tendency to be less overly dependent on private vehicles to daily activiteis such as purchasing or entertainment. Therefore, lower carbon emissions and fresher air can create more sustainable traffic networks, which is benifical for people’s well-being.

Although rural-urban wage can bring several advantages for society as a whole, I completely believe that this phenomenon represents disadvantages. Forcing people to live in cities may exacerbate urban overcrowding. Relocation policies that push people into cities may put more pressure on transit systems and create housing shortages. Another factor is that an increasing density plays an important role in cost-prohibitive of urban housing for many families, especially who has middle-income backgrounds. For almost citizens, they can not afford for that spendthrift lifestyle in megacities.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea that rural-to-urban migration is the best effective solution to solve the traffic and transportation problems due to aforementioned reasons.