The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely believed that team sports are the most appropriate way to cultivate cooperating skills in a child. I completely agree with this view due to the unique opportunities such an activity provides.

One major reason why team sports are crucially important for collaboration, provided that it cultivates essential life skills, which can be useful in the long term. It is communication and leadership that can be developed through such a discipline, since the result is mainly dependent on team’s abilities, and it is necessary to have a constant conversation with teammates to achieve success. Providing a teammates with support and confidence can not only result on team’s overall performance, but also leads to enhanced communication with other people, which is essential in these days. Examples can be seen in football, where coaches frequently prioritize well connection and the atmosphere in the team rather than individualistic performance of a certain footballer, thereby largely contributing to accomplish success.

Admittedly, group projects or gathered education also plays a vital role in cooperating, since it provides an opportunity to expand the knowledge altogether, which facilitates the acquirement of a material. However, such an activity rarely does serve as a mutual connection with others, as it is only a short-term collaboration. Unlike these disciplines, collective sports contribute to a sustainable long-term connection among children due to the shared interest. As an extension, team sports also develop problem-solving skills. Should children have a conflict in the field, they would be able to mitigate properly these issues in the future. Consequently, such sports may be beneficial even in the long-term.

In conclusion, despite group projects may also seem as an option to cooperate with others, it is undeniable that team sports develop certain crucial life skills, including communication and leadership. I firmly believe that such a group sports are essential for a child, maintaining a long-term connection with other people.