The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

At schools, the best educating method for teaching children how to cooperate is through team sports. I completely agree with this statement, since there are numerous sports that require competence and responsibility in being able to act as a team, and physical activities are considered entertainment by most children.

On the one hand, certain sports such as football, volleyball, and tennis require the ability to cooperate, since there are two divided groups constituting certain numbers of individuals. Additionally, they will be aware of their responsibilities as a team when engaging in such activities, on the grounds that if they lose a competition, they will commence to alleviate problems together instead of blaming each other for the failure. Therefore, it is an effective way to encourage children to work as a team, since there are more team sports than individual sports that will encourage children to comprehend their responsibilities and boost their capabilities of cooperation. For example, the subject of sports is part of the curriculum in most developed countries such as Japan, on the grounds that this subject assists children to cooperate.

On the other hand, since children consider physical activities entertainment, they get more motivated to attend certain team sports. As they attend various sports, they start to learn how to collaborate without being conscious. They are prone to spend their time on physical activities that require teamwork without hesitation, since children do not feel exhausted. They state that other subjects are more likely to be tiring; therefore, they approach sports as an incentive. For instance, in classes, children are asking for an increase in the hours of sports subjects, and again, Japan is consistently experiencing such situations.

To sum up, I strongly agree with this statement that children should be taught teamwork through team sports, since most sports are attributed to teamwork and children enjoy engaging in physical activities.