The expansion of multinational companies and increase in globalisation produce positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think that distribution of multinational companies and globalization produce a positive impact on everyone. I completely disagree with this statement due to the drawbacks such as loss of cultural identity and language.

Despite the benefits globalization brings some negative effects, one of them is loss of cultural identity. Globalization brings countries together making them under one single globe, which mixes traditions and cultures of different nations. As a result, some traditions that passed through centuries are forgotten and lost completely. For instance, countries such as Kazakhstan, Turkey and Poland have lost a variety of traditions and national celebrations because of globalisation. In addition to traditions, some cultures lost their national clothes, due to the new fashion trend caused by globalisation.

Another detrimental impact that is produced by globalisation is that it causes people to lose their native language. As I said before, globalisation brings nations together making from them kind of a network. So, since the last century the main language of that network has been English. At first, it seems good that countries have a single language to communicate, trade and negotiate. However, in reality English has replaced a native language of a number of different people around the world, because for them it is easier to communicate in English rather than in their mother tongue. For example, in the last decades, in Iceland the less and less number of people are able to talk in national language and young generation are complaining that English is less difficult than Icelandic.

To sum up, I believe that the spread of international companies and globalisation is not beneficial for everyone. The main reasons are forgetting the traditions and cultural identities and losing the native language.