The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider; the rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What measures can be taken to address those problems?

Over the past decades, there has been a significant change in the disparity between the wealthy and the impoverished as the rich becomes richer opposed to the poor. This trend has become a thorny issue among the society. In this essay, I will explore some of these problems in detail, and then propose some solutions.

One of the major problems facing people is difficulty in nation’s economy growth. By this I mean, due to the wider gap between the wealthy and the underprivilaged, the economic development tends to become more disproportionate which result in the decline or stagnation of the economy. Take China, for instance. Despite being one of the leading countries nowadays, it is still witnessed as a developing country, because the incomes of people living in downtown areas such as Shang Hai, Bejing, Shenzen is far higher compared to those living on the outskirt or mountain areas which leads to the large gap in the development index. To tackle this problems, the government should dispose more preferencial policies for people from disadvangtaged backgrounds. As a result, they can improve their living standards which contribute to the sychronization in national economic growth.

Another issue is the social imbalance as the social evils, especially every types of crimes, become more serious. Due to inabilty to earn money from legal works, people might engage in criminal activities as their only option to survive in this high-cost area that may cause growing concern about security ensuring which could have a great impact on the government reputation. The straigth forward might still be for the authorities to reduce taxes on products so do the living cost together with offering more job opportunities for the poor. Therefore, when the burdens on the poor are eased, the possibility of crimes might be eliminated.

All things considered, there is no doubt that the discrepancy between the rich and the poor can lead to a number of problems such as the stablization or even the drop in the whole nation’s economic development index and the growing social dispropotion. In my point of view, the government plays a vitol role in dealing with all problems. Action must be taken urgently, otherwise our societies will face even greater crisises.