The government should close companies that produce toxic waste materials without their own waste treatment facility in order to protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental degradation due to harmful waste materials from companies and several chemical factories, is considered as one of the main concerns in today’s industrial world. Most people believe, that the government should close down such companies which don’t have their own waste treatment facilities. Which in turn, will protect the environment. I strongly agree with this trend, because it will help to reduce pollution as well as keep the environment free from toxicity.

To commence with, several industries which produce deadly waste materials in their factories do not have a proper disposal system. They often, release such wastes into the nearby rivers or other waterbodies. Which, in turn pollute the waterbodies and destroy the aquatic life present in such waterbodies. Also, it makes that water unfit for drinking. The government should enforce strict laws for such companies which treat toxic waste materials with a casual approach.

In addition, there are certain factories which generally do not have proper treatment facilities to release gases. They usually release such harmful gases in open air. Such gases, affect the purity of air and decrease it’s quality. For example, we all are familiar with the ‘Bhopal Gas Tragedy’ of 1984. It took place due to improper management of the gas. It resulted in leakage of the gas, which caused several deaths and damage to the surrounding property. Higher authorities should have a regular check up on such companies and make it mandatory for them to have their own appropriate waste treatment facility.

To conclude, I believe that government should shut down companies which, even after several warnings, do not obey the laws and ignore legitimate management of the toxic materials from their factories. As it would help folks to live in an environment free from pollution and toxic gases.