The government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicles during rush hour to help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that drivers during rush hour should pay an extra fee to protect the air purity. However, I firmly believe that the government should not implement this policy because it may decreases the GDP and the development of a country.

To begin with, the policy may reduce the country’s income due to inaccessibility. Many types of vehicles will be affected by this decision so it not only discourages CO2-emission cars but also electric ones that does not directly affect the air. More people will switch to walking or biking than necessary and slower the traffic flow to work, reducing the overall productivity. Take the example of Vietnam’s pavement, most of them are damaged or taken over by parking motorcycles and street food vendors, making it extremely inefficient to travel on.

On top of that, it may cause the disruption of a country’s growth. It is difficult to keep track of participants during rush hour, so the fee may be so generalised that it is ridiculous for drivers to pay. This may lead to rebellious protests by refusing to commute to work and disrupt the development of a country. For instance, many protests by farmers who were affected by prices had vigorously protested for weeks and temporarily shut down the government in the past.

To sum up, imposing a fee on rush-hour-vehicle participants may lower the income and slow down the growth of a country. For these reasons, I believe that drivers should not have to pay for driving during rush hour.