Competitiveness is considered a positive quality for people in most societies. Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, with the development of educational systems and technology, individuals’ skills are generally becoming more and more refined. In some communities, competitiveness is considered as a crucial personal value and as a result, this will have certain impacts on humanity that will be discussed in this essay before clarifying my opinion.

First of all, a competitive environment provides us the motivation to develop ourselves. When working or studying in such a space, people will not only gain knowledge from others, but also feel the urge to overcome obstacles and keep up with their surrounding partners. For example, studies show that the majority of students when learning in prestigious schools,which are often very stressful, usually have higher results than those who study in ordinary schools. Moreover, competitiveness also benefits fields such as business and science. When employees work under the pressure of being constantly dominated, they will tend to have more innovative ideas that will be surprisingly advantageous for the company. For instance, scientists often compete with others in the field to produce the most effective medicine for certain diseases, or businessmen will try to find all solutions to gain more money than their opponents.

Nonetheless, living under a pressurized environment can also lead to severe consequences.

Firstly, people will find themselves burning out when trying to achieve goals that are too unrealistic. They will no longer live for themselves, but for the desire to be the best. As a result, they might face serious psychological issues such as depression and so on. To illustrate, a lot of programmers have to deal with insomnia because they frequently stay up all night just to acquire the best result in coding. Additionally, when individuals have a competitive mindset for too long, they will be less likely to share any information with partners, creating a selfish lifestyle. Besides, competitiveness can damage the relationship between people. Consequently, sympathy will be an overlooked quality in society, slowing down societal progress.

In conclusion, competitiveness is a double-edged sword, it can bring advantages to the society but also create major societal issues. In my perspective, the disadvantages generally outweigh the benefits. If this cannot be controlled properly, it will lead to consequences in the future.