Competitiveness is considered a positive quality for people in most societies. Is it a positive or a negative trend?

In this day and age, the idea whether competitiveness brings about benefits or disadvantages is becoming increasingly controversial. Personally, I believe that this characteristic provides both trends due to several reasons.

When it comes to the positive qualities of competition, many people believe that it may develop their motivation owing to the desire for surpassing the others. When seeing somebody make significant effort in doing something, people will unconsciously enhance a sense of rivalry that impulses them to outperform those people. This is capable of improving their working process leading to higher promotions. Additionally, in today’s fast paced world, individuals need to create competitive capacity in order to keep up with other people. For example, when mentioning the businesses, if they don’t spend time upgrading their strategy, they may be defeated by their rival companies, resulting in the destruction of the whole enterprises.

On the other hand, there are various difficulties created by over-competition. One factor worth considering is our health. Solely focusing on outperforming their colleagues leading to increasing stress and anxiety, which firmly disadvantages their performance as well as their mental and physical health.

Moreover, this also results in the unbalance of work and daily life. People pay less attention to their family and personal life, constituting a decrease in living standard.

In brief, I suppose that competitiveness offers both positive and negative trends. Competitive ability considerably enhances people’s motivation and performance. However, remarkable ambition affects people both mentally and physically, in addition to the lowering in the quality of living standard. As a result, I am of the opinion that the balance between cooperation and competition will upgrade people’s lives efficiently and healthily.