Competitiveness is considered a positive quality for people in most societies. Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Competitiveness has been a debated topic in recent years. Some people think that this personality has numerous advantages, while others believe it impacts detrimentally on people. Hence, this essay will provide the reasons why I remain neutral on this trend.

On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons for considering competitiveness as beneficial. The foremost advantage is that rivalry can encourage people to reach their full potential. Specifically, if people possess this personality, they can push themselves to the limits to outperform others. For example, Novak Djokovic, who is one of the greatest tennis players in the world, used his competitive spirit to defeat most of the competitors in many tournaments, leading to a lot of records being broken. As a result, rivalry not only helps people overcome many challenges, but also enhances their chances of building a successful career.

On the other hand, competitiveness also involves some drawbacks, contributing to the balanced trend mentioned at the start of the essay. The main disadvantage is that this personality can prevent people from making friends. To elaborate, with rivalry, individuals tend to find several ways to surpass the others’ accomplishments rather than building enough trust to make relationships. For instance, in football competitions, some most well-known rivals such as Ronaldo and Messi avoid being friends with each other because of the fear of leaking strategies and workout routines. Consequently, competitive people can suffer from the lack of relationships, leading them to deal with many challenges alone.

In conclusion, competitiveness has both unique advantages and disadvantages, impacting the future lives of many people. Therefore, individuals should not only focus on this personality, but also develop the other necessary characteristics such as responsibilities to have a prosperous future.